As Professor Batchelder mentioned, this idea “collective intelligence” has many meanings. Wikipedia, a site which has certainly capitalized on the concept, explains that collective intelligence can relate to bacterial, plant, animal, and human societies. I am intrigued by this concept, and I think Wikipedia does a wonderful job in tapping into this phenomena. The site was built on the premise that, “with enough eyeballs, all bugs are shallow” (O’Reilly). This quote is really interesting to me. It seems like through most of my academic years, teachers were focused on everyone doing individual work. Outside of the occasional group project, most work was done solo, and if not repercussions would be had. I’m starting to think that maybe this isn’t always the best way to learn, and maybe some really great things can be produced when created by more than one person.

I went back to the famous O’Reilly Web 2.0 article to reread the portion on collective intelligence. O’Reilly explains, “The central principle behind the success of the giants born in the Web 1.0 era who have survived to lead the Web 2.0 era appears to be this, that they have embraced the power of the web to harness collective intelligence” (O’Reilly). The author goes on to cite companies that have been successful because they have embraced the concept of collective intelligence, including companies like Google, eBay, Amazon, and Flickr. It seems like companies that do not embrace this concept will be left behind, because of the power of the collective voice.

Another article I checked out was The Hype and the Hullabaloo of Web 2.0 which had a great quote, “A collective intelligence is achieved when a critical mass of participation is reached within a site or system, allowing the participants to act as a filter for what is valuable” (Kroski). I think what the author is saying here is that when using collective intelligence, the users decide what is important to them and improve the site/product. To me, there is no better way to sell a product or service then to have the customer decide what they like and make it better.

I have always found that I learn really well from other people, and that working in a group enhances my learning process. On the other hand, I think the years of doing solo work in school has engrained in me a kind of weird ownership over my work. I would like to start to embrace the idea of collective intelligence, gaining from other people’s knowledge, but also sharing what I know to make others better. In my PLE, I am definitely open to learning as much as possible from other people. I have started getting into web design and other related blogs to learn as much as I can. And I think when we start our personal blog in this class I will share what I’ve been learning with other people as well.

Sources:
O’Reilly, Tim. “What is Web 2.0: Design Patterns and Business Models for the Next Generation of Software.” O’Reilly Media. 30 Sep. 2005.
http://www.oreillynet.com/pub/a/oreilly/tim/news/2005/09/30/what-is-web-20.html

Kroski, Ellyssa. “The Hype and the Hullabaloo of Web 2.0.” Infotangle. 31 Dec 2006.
http://infotangle.blogsome.com/2006/01/13/the-hype-and-the-hullabaloo-of-web-20/

