Ok, for this week’s entry, I wanted to write about another TV show and movie, but I wanted to include one that wasn’t on our list.

I found this really cool site called Art of the Title. If you’re not familiar with it, it features some of the best opening title sequences from films across the world.  There are some really inspiring opening title sequences there, and I like that they break the sequences down and talk about what works with them. Also, they often interview the people involved with creating the sequence, which gives you insight and inspiration.

One such opening title sequence was from Diego Sabanés’ film “Mentiras Piadosas” (see here). The makers of the sequence were inspired by shadow sculpture, “where the shadow, rather than the form, represents the object.” This intro is absolutely stunning. I love the old, vintage feel that the makers have created, with a muted color palette and old-style furniture in the house.

The use of type in the piece is phenomenal as well. I like that the letters become part of the design, as shown in this shot of the producers names integrated on the staircase (shown right). The letters become physical three-dimensional objects in the house, and almost seem a part of the landscape, like another piece of furniture or something. The letters are all jumbled up and cast strange, imposing shadows. I think it’s a really original concept.

I also love the use of motion and depth of field in this opening sequence. I felt like I was flying around the house as the animation was going along. The use of depth of field was really cool, with objects closest to you appearing in-focus or blurry, depending upon where the camera wanted you to look. shoes As you can see in this example, the camera transitions from focusing on the words in the foreground, to the shoes in the background, causing the foreground to become blurry.

Additionally, I loved the textures and ornate feel of the objects in the design. And the music matched perfectly with what was being displayed. Overall, I thought it was an awe-inspiring opening title sequence. I just wish I spoke Spanish so I could understand what the words meant :/

