So, I just realized I haven’t posted my ideas for my site for Server Side yet.  In this class we are supposed to design a site that has a shopping cart feature, and also have some other features that will bring a unique user experience. I decided to do a website that sells and rents independent movies. I wanted users to be able to search and find the exact movie they want through a set of criteria that they choose; like genre, era of the movie, whether it won any awards, etc. I think it would be cool to help people find the movie they want, because I have spent too many hours in the video store staring at the aisles of movies, not being able to pick one. I would also like to build in some ability for the user to flag movies they want to rent in the future and also make recommendations to other users.

I went back and forth with the name of the company I wanted to select. I ultimately went with the name “Eight Reels” after doing some research on early independent film making. Independent films of course are those that are not produced by a major movie studio. As film making progressed and became more expensive, it became harder for those not producing with a major studio to create a film. Here’s an excerpt from Wikipedia:

The original terms called for Pickford, Fairbanks, Griffith and Chaplin to independently produce five pictures each year, but by the time the company got under way in 1920-1921, feature films were becoming more expensive and more polished, and running times had settled at around ninety minutes (or eight reels). It was believed that no one, no matter how popular, could produce and star in five quality feature films a year.

I sort of liked the way “eight reels” sounded, and thought it was appropriate for an independent film website.  Here are some of my logo sketches.

logo11

logo3

logo22

